The Future is Evil

Okay… so maybe the future is not completely evil… but staying in the future and constantly thinking about the future can get dangerous & unhealthy. I have found that it is COMMON and almost EXPECTED for people to be stressed out. I walk through campus and I can see it in people’s faces. Everyone is thinking about their NEXT thing to do.

This was Dave's "plan" for winning me over. It worked.

I have been thinking about this topic for a couple of days. Someone asked me:

Are you freaking out about planning?! How much stuff do you have to do???

This isn’t uncommon either. Almost everyone asks me this! Am I supposed to be freaked out? Am I supposed to be going crazy? Apparently because there are COUNTLESS articles about: Staying sane during wedding planning & Managing your wedding stress. But to find my answers – I look in the only book that matters– The Bible.

Then Jesus said to his disciples: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. Life is more than food, and the body more than clothes. Consider the ravens; They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable are you than birds! Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest? LUKE 12: 22-36

WOW! Amen to that.  Dave & I try not to get caught up in the “wedding planning process”. We LOVE to plan & we love to get ideas. But- if we ever start to get stressed (I say we, but I mean just me), we stop doing whatever we are doing, and we focus in the moment & we laugh. This whole wedding planning thing is supposed to be FUN.

Another one of those "plans"

Stay in the moment. Stay present. LAUGH. Stay in communication with God. Do not linger in the future. Remember God is always with you.  God’s plans our better than our best plans. Trust Him.

– Kari

 

2 responses to “The Future is Evil

  1. Yes they are!!!!!!! So thankful for all that He gives us!!!!
    We are going to have so much fun planning the Wedding!!!!!! (I already am)
    Love you both!!!!

  2. Just want I needed to hear! Thank Kari!

Leave a Reply

